Archive for April 29th, 2008

29
Apr
08

Some Photography Near Me (Finally).

“All of the big photography stuff happens somewhere else.”

That’s what I thought when my wife and I made it to New Orleans (long before the levees broke) and found that there were galleries that just hosted photography. My wife even got me a print by Louis Sahuc, whose studio was mercifully untouched by the flooding.

A couple of years later, we’d make it to New York and I got to nose around the photo Mecca of the world as well as ICP and this gallery run by a woman named Robin Rice that featured pictures by people I actually knew in person. I was thrilled beyond belief and felt shortchanged because I live in Richmond, Virginia.

But now there’s LOOK3: Festival of the Photograph in Charlottesville, just up I-64 from here. The funny thing is I’d be willing to bet that this has been a yearly thing for some time now and I’m just late in finding it.

It boasts a number of people, including Joel-Peter Witkin and Mary Ellen Mark and it sounds like a regular Woodstock for image-hounds. Good times, no?




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other subscribers
April 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
stats for wordpress

Categories