15
Sep
09

An Experiment.

laundry-0634.jpg

A long time ago, a stock photographer put to me and a friend a hypothetical question: “How would you make a picture that sold washing machines but wasn’t the standard image?” Immediately, I thought about using a machine out in a field and just standing people on it.

Fast forward a few years (and a couple of children for me) and I find that one of my neighbors is actually throwing away an old washer. Now at this point, I don’t have time to borrow a truck and schlep the thing out to a field. Moreover, I don’t have any models immediately available.

But I do have my daughter. And the house next door to ours is vacant.

This was one of a couple dozen I shot very quickly, without extra light, reflected or otherwise, but it reminds me of how I want to frame this as a serious shot later. Who knows? Maybe the little girl here will even be in the final shot.

2 Responses to “An Experiment.”


  1. September 15, 2009 at 3:20 am

    This is a cute photo – love the colours.

    I have often wondered why ads for washing machines and laundry products are so boring (LOL).

    You sound like you should be in advertising.

  2. 2 melissa
    September 15, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Glad to see you’re putting that youngun to work. Poor little pretty thing. She looks like she’s in despair about folding all those towels.


Leave a Reply

twitterfeed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

September 2009
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
stats for wordpress

Categories


