02
Jun
09

All Jammed Up.

Mulberries. That’s how this all started.

Now that school’s out and since I’m not shooting all the time, I walk with my son around our neighborhood in the mornings. One of the things I’ve noticed a lot of is mulberry trees. They grow wild in the alleys of Woodland Heights.

I figured there was something I could do with them if I collected enough. I grabbed something like five cups of them over the course of two trips and then I prevailed upon my buddy, The Mommy Gourmet, of Mommy Gourmet blog fame, to help me make jam.

I confess: I was completely worried that there was some highly technical procedure and I’d botch it on my own. My own mother-in-law, who’s a wizard in the kitchen wryly said, “I believe that they’re edible,” quietly implying that she’d never mess with the ugly little berries. MG allayed my fears though, and we hung out for an afternoon. It was really just a little boiling and mixing, nothing I couldn’t do on my own next time. We haven’t eaten any yet, but I’ll post a note here when I get a taste.

Here are a couple of snaps from the day.

Before.
Jammin' Out-9280.jpg

After.
Jammin' Out-9294.jpg

0 Responses to “All Jammed Up.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

twitterfeed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

June 2009
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
stats for wordpress

Categories


