20
Nov
08

For The Win.

Contrary to the fact that my students collectively believe that I have no life, I managed to take my wife out to catch a VCU basketball game. (I almost said match — it’s late.)

I find that I’m always more interested in watching sports that aren’t football when I know at least some of the players. Tonight’s match was great in part because the team won (72-56) and in part because I actually know some of the players. Brad Burgess and Terrance Saintil are students of mine. What’s neat about watching them play is that during class, they’re in my element. On the court, they’re in their own, and it shows. There’s a grace to basketball that you can’t fully appreciate until you see someone you know who can actually do the stuff you see on TV. I can comfortably say that I won’t be challenging either of them to a one on one game.

I grabbed a couple dozen shots while I was there but didn’t get a whole lot worth keeping ’cause the zoom on my digital camera isn’t very long. If I’m gonna make it to more games with my little DSLR in hand, I might wanna get something that’ll allow me to see to the other side of the court more clearly.

Here’s Brad, being big & intimidating (though he’s very nice in person):
southdakotastate-2.jpg

And here’s Terrance, lookin’ cool as ever:
southdakotastate-5.jpg

0 Responses to “For The Win.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

twitterfeed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
stats for wordpress

Categories


