23
Oct
08

Side Out.

I’m not completely sure I know what “side out” means but I can tell you that when I went to a VCU women’s volleyball match a couple of weeks back, I was almost immediately caught up in the thrill of it.

I play soccer (poorly) and I ride a bicycle (slowly) so my athleticism is limited at best. I can watch occasional bouts of sports, but everything gets to be more intense when you actually know one of the participants. Such was the case for my excursion to see this match — an old student of mine is on the team. It wasn’t long before I was aware that I was holding my breath and clenching my teeth with the players. Watching them know exactly where the ball was going whether it was leaving their side of the net or heading for them was amazing.

They beat Hofstra this time out.

VCU-Hofstra-14.jpg

It helped that their coach seemed amiable and never lost his temper.

VCU-Hofstra-12

2 Responses to “Side Out.”


  1. 1 Amrhein, Brent
    October 25, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    Foster there was in my math class Junior year. Is she still a beast vball player?

  2. 2 scott
    October 25, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Dunno. It’s Frey that I taught.


Leave a Reply

twitterfeed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
stats for wordpress

Categories


